skip to main content

Accessibility and Display Options

Choose accessibility and display settings
Text Preferences
Colour Schemes
Save Close


You are here: Home / Latest News

Press Release

4 March 2020

New party formed after Councillor leaves the Conservative Group

Fareham South Councillor, Keith Barton, has left the Conservative Group. He will serve as an independent councillor with immediate effect.

The political balance of the Council is now as follows:

Conservative                          22                   70.97%

Liberal Democrat                     4                   12.9%

The Independent Group          5                   16.13%

Following the move, Cllr Barton will join with other independent councillors to form a new political party, known as The Independent Group.

The other members of this group are Cllr Leslie Keeble (Fareham West), Cllr Shaun Cunningham (Portchester East ward), Cllr Jack Englefield (Titchfield Common ward) and Cllr Carolyn Heneghan (Stubbington ward). The group will be led by Cllr Leslie Keeble and Cllr Jack Englefield will be Deputy Leader.    


For further information contact:

Customer Enquiries

Tel: 01329 236100

Media Enquiries

The Communications Team
Tel: 01329 824310
Fax: 01329 550576

Keep in touch on the go

Like us on FacebookFollow us on Twitter

Back to top of page Back to Top How to get here
Fareham Borough Council, Civic Offices, Civic Way, Hampshire, PO16 7AZ
Tel: +44 (0) 1329 236100 | Mobile Text/Photo: 07876 131415 | Fax: +44 (0) 1329 821770
RSS Feeds